top of page

What You Say About Yourself Matters

The subject of self-talk, or the things you say about yourself really matter. The way you perceive yourself personally and the way others see you are interconnected. Let's take a brief journey and help you develop healthy and nurturing thoughts about yourself. These will help you see yourself as a winner and of course, when you see yourself as a winner others will also.


When we talk about self-talk, it's important to understand that what you say about yourself in large part is the way you will think and act. That is to say, if you see yourself as loser, then you'll act like a loser. And if you see and call yourself a winner, you'll tend to act like a winner.


In sports, coaches spend most of their time conditioning their athletes but the real work is done in the mind. Coaches spend as much time convincing their athletes that they are better than they see themselves. If you can get an athlete to believe he can move a mountain, he'll exert maximum energy in trying.


Entrepreneurs and people on a success journey are the same. Technical skills, plans and products are only part of the equation. You have to believe that you are able to do a task in order for you to make the sale, run the marathon or ask for the deal. And it all starts with what you say about yourself.


Society has put labels on each of us. We have to constantly re-label ourselves as "More than conquerors" as a biblical passage goes. We "Can move mountains". "I'm a gladiator" or even "I'm a millionaire in training". Each day you must fill your emotional tank with words of affirmation to overcome the constant barrage of negativity out there in the mainstream.


Here is a short list of personal affirmations you can tweak to suit yourself. Pick one or alot but use them as a tool to help remind yourself of how valuable and capable you are for the task.


I love myself.

The world has a need for me.

I am unique.

I can and I will do things to promote healing in my life.

I can handle this one step at a time.

The sun is shining; I am ready to take on another day.

My problem has a solution; I will work on a plan.

I am a survivor.

I refuse to give up because I haven’t tried all possible ways.

I will inhale confidence and exhale doubt.

I may be one in 7 billion but I am also one in 7 billion!

I am smart.


When you get down and see yourself going back to that well of doubt, refer back this list. Remember, you are what you say about yourself. Say something positive and live-giving about you.

0 views0 comments

For Daily Motivation

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page